I quilted a quilt!

My first project after tidak bekerja; Khadeeja’s Strawberry Shortcake Quilt.

IMO, if you are a beginner and wants to do something for your child, I think quilting is much easier than knitting, unless you want to do booties lah. Otherwise, if you want to make something yang diorang boleh pakai sampai besar sikit, make a blanket. Knitting, you only need the needles and the yarn (and also measurement tape). For quilting, you need a lot of stuff but it is much faster and easier sebab knitting you are making it from the first stitch. Quilting is just sewing the cloth pieces together, adding up the batting (the filling) and binding (the tepi). To those yang mempunyai tahap kesabaran yang tinggi, knit all you can! But to those who’d like to see the end product much faster, sew it.

The top pieces I got from ebay. Siap potong and it comes with the instructions on how to assemble it.

The top pieces I got from ebay. Siap potong and it comes with the instructions on how to assemble it.

 

Satu block yang sudah di sambung.

Satu block yang sudah di sambung.

 The top kit doesn’t come with the rest of the stuff you need to complete the quilt. I suggest going to Anna Patchwork located in Sunway Pyramid (CP2) to complete your quilt. It is a cute small shop for your sewing & quilting needs. Anna provides classes on handbag making, baby quilting, applique doing as well.

Do you need a sewing machine to make a quilt? Actually, no. Having a machine is definitely a big huge help, but if you want to take it slow, you CAN jahit tangan. The quilt I made is 75% jahit tangan! Not kidding… I have all the patience to sew (but not with parking stealer…).

Almost done... Only the binding left...

Almost done... Only the binding left...

 

Yezzah!!! The satisfaction of seeing the finished product.

Yezzah!!! The satisfaction of seeing the finished product.

After this, I’m going to attempt to make Khadeeja and Ameena dresses. Anybody knos where to get a simple mesin jahit (yang boleh jahit lurus saja, not the fancy ones)?

19 thoughts on “I quilted a quilt!

  1. wah, bagus u made this post! i was contemplating quilts as well. but i fail at sewing machines – ERT in Form 2 i mmg lingkup jahit straight lines with sewing machine (i cheated – mintak tolong my mom jahit =P) and i thought jahit quilt kene pakai sewing machine, which i obviously don’t have (which is why i thought of knitting hahahahhaha).
    i nak learn how to knit blankets first =D. my dot adores knitted ones, so… not?
    the big Q is, when to start? hahahhahaha
    (nid. to. get. butt. moving.)

  2. Now, THAT’s a friggin quilt!Gile kagum weiii!I love quilting, and since I inherited the 70s sewing machine from my ibu mertua, I may contemplate making one.Tapi macam malas lah pulak. ha ha.I’m currently in my mood-petani-moden.Spring is such a good reason to be outdoors lately🙂

    Bah, kacak menar slimut ya eh.Geram ati ku nanggar! *groupie shriek*

  3. I am so proud of you! Please, please, please go ahead and purchase your real sewing machine NOW. Don’t go wasting your talent on smaller and basic machines. Go head on! I know you could! Looking forward to more of your sewing FOs and yes I’ll light you colourful fireworks all the way from Wales the first day you’d finish making the dresses for the girls! March on, girl! xoxo

  4. elly says:

    wowee! way to go ziah!!

    I’ve always imagining doin a quilt myself and also after watchin How to make an american quilt coz minat winona dulu hehe

    seriously, i have one m/c at home but only my bibik is using it hehe i wish i can be more rajin like you!

    anyway, great job! I love the sweet sweet strawberry shortcake!!! Khadeeja must be so happy!😀

Leave a Reply

